V.A. Tapp House
217 North Avenue
Alonzo (Lon) Tapp was one of eight children born to Vincent J. and Myra J. Tapp. This was a time when large families were not unusual. Both his parents had been born in Alabama, but the family moved west and Lon had been born in Texas. By 1912 he had met and married Juanita Stafford, daughter of a popular Pittsburg sheriff, and was residing with his in-laws. Soon he built the house on North Avenue, and the family grew to include two girls, Vivian and Melba. The house on North Avenue changed hands several times after the Tapps moved to another home. But from 1919 until 2008, several generations of the Williams family - Annie, Mabel, P.H. and Velma - each in turn, called it home.
The Carson House
302 Mt. Pleasant Street
This beautiful Gothic Victorian House was built in 1878 by Pierce Ligon. In 1887 it became the home of William Henry Carson. William was in the Lumber Business and held interest in a Circus as well as a rail line which traveled between Texas and Mexico.In 1898 Mr. Carson discovered a tract of land containing Curley Pine Trees, An extremely rare variant of the long leaf pine tree with a unique iridescent curly grain. Mr. Carson used this curley pine lumber for baseboards, door casing, and wainscot through the Carson House. This wood is now extinct and The Carson House is one of the few places where it is known to exist.
A.A. Hall House
309 Quitman Street
Born in 1894 as the only son of prominent citizens, L.R. and Julia Hall, Alfred Alexander Hall's future appeared bright. Education was the principal factor of his young life. He attended grade school in Pittsburg, Bingham Military Academy in North Carolina, Castle Heights Military Academy in Tennessee and Tyler Commercial School of Business in Tyler, Texas. Predictably, he followed his father's footsteps into banking and began his career as a bookkeeper at the Pittsburg National Bank in 1914. He married Ruth Eclair Clayton, niece of the owner of the Clayton Hotel, in 1916. Returning home from their honeymoon, they resided with the L.R. Hall's until their home could be completed next door. Despite the loss of his father in 1922, A.A. Hall's career in banking soared. He was promoted to cashier in 1922, and advanced to vice president and member of the board of directors in 1934; he was elected president in 1937 and remained active in the bank until his death in 1961. The Halls were active in so many ways to support the community and their fellow man...too many to list here. A.A. and Julia raised four children: Julia, Lee, Kathy and William, and they attended the Methodist Church.
David Harper Abernathy was born in 1858 in Arkansas. He moved with his family to Pittsburg in 1864. After learning business in Nashville, Tennessee, David returned to help Run his father's dry goods store. He was a major leader in town and was heavily involved in the Methodist church. This house was built for the Abernathy family in 1896 by George Barber. It is a two-story Queen Anne-style home, with a wraparound porch, spindle work and a front gable. The original front door is intact and much of the interior has remained unchanged. The house was expanded and modified after World war II. The house is a reminder of a century of the influential Abernathy family.
Recorded Texas Historic Landmark - 2015
Original Owner: Dr. R.Y. Lacy
320 Quitman Street
Dr. Robert Yeager Lacey was born in Palestine, Texas in 1875. He attended the University of Texas, the University of Texas Medical School in Galveston, and Jefferson Medical College which was the medical branch of Princeton University. Dr. Lacy and his bride, Florence Wren Harman, moved to Pittsburg in 1902. As a young doctor he was called to pronounce the death at the last public hanging in Camp County; this was 1903. the next morning he was awakened by Sheriff Jim Stafford banging on the door, "I've had reports that the family fed the deceased milk and biscuits and revived him. We've go to check it out." He accompanied the Sheriff to the home, took the lid off the cake and again pronounced the man dead. Dr. Lacy was a no-nonsense, dignified expert, but this was tempered with a quick sense of humor and an inexhaustible fund of good stories. He was a meticulous, kindly gentleman who always wore a flower in the lapel of his well-cut suit, usually a red carnation, but he favored blue cornflowers in the summer. Dr. Lacy, along with three other doctors, founded Pittsburg's Medical and Surgical Hospital in 1940; this later became ETMC Pittsburg. Dr. and Mrs. Lacy had tow children; William and Eugenia. Mrs. Lacy died ion 1921, and R. Lacy later married Mr. Minnie Hood Fleming, widow of Dr. Fleming of Mt. Pleasant. Dr. Lacy served the community for more than half a century. He was a devoted member of the Presbyterian Church, on the board of directors of tow banks, and a member of the Pittsburg School Board.
Original Owner: E. Fore/Stafford-Paris
333 Quitman Street
This Victoria residence with ornate gingerbread woodwork was built 1899 for the family of Eugene Fore. In 1913 it was sold to Camp County Sheriff J.D. Stafford, who lived here for 24 years. Dr. Ernest Paris, a prominent local chiropractor, and his wife Margret bought the home in 1941. Other community leaders who resided here include Dr. R.Y. Lacy and Dr. R.C. Treynham whose wife Cora was the stepdaughter of W.H. Pitts for who the town was named.
Recorded Texas Historic Landmark - 1981
Original Owner: G.A. Hess
311 Quitman Street
Larkin Hess brought his family to Texas in 1858 from Mississippi. One of his sons, George W. Hess, married Sarah Jane Ligon in 1871; he was in the livery and dray business in Pittsburg. The couple had 10 children. One son, Aubrey Hess, became a grocer and his brother, Louie B. Hess, had a clothing store. The daughters married into families with names like Ellis, Lockhart and Russell. In 1902 Aubrey married Nannie Kate Cleveland and they raised twin sons, Robert and Aubrey. One year the twins rode in the Northeast Texas Fair parade in a car decorated as "The Gold Dust Twins." The family lived for many years on Mt. Pleasant Street until a fire destroyed their home in 1917. When Aubrey Hess acquired the Quitman Street property, an existing house was moved back to Fairview Street and the present two-story home was constructed. Mr. Hess was a retail and wholesale supply grocer. He was an active leader in the Chamber ofd commerce, the Ferndale Club, Rotary Club, and was a member of the school board. The family attended the Baptist Church.
Original Owner: J.A. Bailey
315 Quitman Street
J. Alonzo (Lon) Bailey and Nannie Lasater Bailey bought a 6 are parcel of land along Quitman Street from J.A. Smith in 1899. Mr. Bailey, a druggist by trade, had acquired stock in the Golden Peacock Cosmetics Company, which later became Revlon. In 1907 he sold $20,000 worth of stock, built this home for $7500 and never worked again as a druggist. They raised three children in this home and were very active in the community and the Methodist church.
Original Owner: John L. Sheppard
217 Mt. Pleasant Street
Home of the Sheppard family from 1884, when the house was built, until 1891. During that time John L. Sheppard (1852-1902) served as district attorney and then judge for the Fifth Judicial District. In 1899 he was elected to U.S.Congress and died in office. His son, Morris Sheppard (1875-1941), succeeded him in congress, then served with distinction in the U.S. Senate from 1913-1951. Recorded Texas Historic Landmark - 1974.
Original Owner: L.R. Hall
305 Quitman Street
Leonidas Robert Hall was truly a self-made man. The Hall family came from Alabama, and L.R. was the youngest child of twelve. At the age of 14, he was employed at the County Clerk's office in Upshur County. He met Julia Derrick while they were attending Gilmer High School, and they were married in 1873. They moved to Pittsburg in 1881 and L.R. was employed by Gillian Grocery. In 1883 he established Hall's Grocery, and later purchased half interest in J.M Holman Hardware and furniture. By 1901 he had sold his interest to his partner and purchase the old Gilmer Bank, converting it from private to First National, serving as its president. In 1904 they moved the bank to Pittsburg to organize the Pittsburg National bank where he served as president until the time of his death in 1921. He also organized the Naples National bank in 1906. The Halls raised two children, Alfred A. Hall and Carrie Hall Berry. They were very active in supporting the economic educational and financial growth of the the community.
Original Owner: W.C. Hargrove
312 Quitman Street
William Chester Hargrove was born in Homer, LA in 1862. Soon after the Civil Was his family moved to Sulphur Springs in Hopkins County, TX. The family had a farm and as a youth, he worked in a grocery store. He learned the business, saved his money, and went into business for himself. He bought bank stock, learned about banking, and helped or organize the City National Bank in Sulphur Springs. He met his future wife, Florence Stone, when she cam into the bank to open and account. They were married in 1894 and established their home in Pittsburg. Eight children (two of whom died in infancy) followed: William C.,Jr., Stone, Mary Florence, Grace, Harold and Frances. Mr. and Mrs Hargrove joined the First Baptist Church. He was ordained as a deacon and served as Sunday School Superintendent for 25 years. He also served as a trustee of Buckner Children's Home for many years. He assisted win opening the First National Bank, invested in real estate and bought the Pittsburg Cotton Seed Oil Mill. As their financial means improved and the family grew, they built the house on Quitman Street. Mrs. Hargrove was a gracious lady and often hosted functions to benefit their church and the community. They both died in 1950, just month apart, after log, fruitful lives in service to God and to others.
Original Owner: William Rhymes
There were three William Rhymes. The grandfather, H.W. Rhymes, was a Confederate War veteran, charter member of the First Presbyterian Church and land owner. He was one of the first men in the area to register and ear notch to distinguish his swine. The second William, Oscar William Rhymes, married Eva Stuckey but did not live long enough to see the birth of his only son. Mrs. Eva Rhymes was a long time employee at W.L. Garrett Department Store, and evidently a devoted mother. Her son, the third William Rhymes, was one of Pittsburg's most outstanding citizens and progressively served as employee, vice president, member of the board of directors and then president of the Pittsburg National Bank after A.A. Hall's death in 1961.
Original Owner: W.P. Woods
318 Daingerfield Hwy.
The year 1896 seemed bright and promising for W.P. Woods and his new bride, Eula Bass. The future darkened, however, with her death on June 15, 1897. The 1900 census shows W.P. Woods as a single male residing in a hotel; his occupation - lumber dealer. Records do not indicate that he ever remarried, however, he worked hard and built the pretty house on the Daingerfield Highway. In the 1920 census we find that W.P. has his brother, sister-in-law and family and possibly his mother in the house with him. Shelly Woods was a descendant that many people remember living in the house.
Original Owner: W.R. Heath
316 Quitman Street
William Robert Heath was the son of Mary Drucilla Pitts and William K. Heath, a nephew of Maj W.K. Pitts for whom Pittsburg is named, and the great uncle of the current homeowner, Carolyn Heath Franks. He was a practicing attorney, and married Hattie Brooks win 1892. They had five children: Winnie, Fred, Josephine, Marshall and Mary Ruth.